Welcome to the West Yorkshire Welsh Pony & Cob Association Website.



Supreme Welsh Champion, Welsh Section A Champion and 1st Yearling Filly

M.H Smith & S.L Fisher's Lingardswood Sandi

Reserve Supreme Welsh Champion, Welsh Section D Champion and 1st  Yearling Filly

G Schofield's Dearnevalley Ruby-Rae


All photographs on this page were taken by Equestrian Show Photographer

Our AGM will take place  on Saturday 25th February 2017  at  Dewsbury Rams Rugby Ground, Owl Lane, Dewsbury WF12 7RH.  After the AGM we will be holding a race night and supper, racing will start at 8pm.  The commitee would like to invite all to attend.

Membership can be paid on the night if anyone wishes and some idea of numbers for food would be much appreciated..........Please come along and lets all have a great night.  RACE NIGHT, to include West Yorkshire Derby Tri Cast Race where the winner will win 150.00 from a 1.00 stake.

All are welcome to join us but please remember that only members have a vote on any matters that may arise.  If you have any issues that you want to raise at the AGM  you may contact any Committee member in advance.

This year Association Membership will be held at 10 per family and can be paid on the night.  As stated above, refreshments will be available at the AGM and an indication of how many of you will be there would be much appreciated.   Please let Gwen Heppenstall know your numbers on 07969486080 by calling or text.



The WYWPCA has three shows a year. The shows for 2017 are:  




19th  March

Youngstock Show

Section A/B:  Mr R Miller (Heniarth

Section C/D:  Mr J K Walters (Tyrllawn)

Partbred:   Mr R Miller (Heniarth)

Ridden: Mrs M F Edwards (Nefmon/Nefydd

29th May

(Phil Sweeting Memorial Show)

Spring Medal Show

Sec A: Mr S. Bigley (Lanarth)

Sec B/partbred: Janice Parry (Talponciau)

Sec C/D: Frances Jackson-Edwards (Ashgrove)

Ridden:  J. Helme (Llwyngarth)

13th  August

Summer Medal Show


All three are held at Mill Lane Equestrian Centre, Selby.

For further information about Mill Lane Equestrian Centre, including directions please click HERE

 Supreme Ridden Champion, Open Ridden Champion and 1st Welsh Section D Ridden

Georgia Rhodes' Taffechan Miss Moneypenny

Our first show of the year was held at Mill Lane Equestrian Center, Selby on Sunday 20th March.  Yet again the sun shined down upon us and the wet winter weather seemed like a distant memory.  Mrs Gillian Sells kindly stepped in for Mrs H White who was unable to judge the Welsh Cs and Ds.  We would like to take this opportuity to thank Gillian for agreeing to judge all the in-hand sections at such short notice. 

Our second show of the season was on Monday 30th May.  Mr S Franklin (Sarum Stud) judged the Welsh Section As.  The Overall Champion went to S Goodwins barren mare Tamevalley Taffeta.  Meanwhile Mrs E Payne (Slades Stud) judged the Welsh Part-Breds followed by the Welsh Section Bs.  M Parkinsons yearling Wilmira Dream Come True claimed Youngstock and Overall Champion.   Mrs Payne gave Youngstock and Champion Overall Welsh Pony to Thistledown Cali Blue owned by Mrs B Loisil.   Mr D Dykes (Crossfield Stud) judged the Welsh section Cs and Ds.  Welsh Cob Overall Champion and Reserve Youngstock Champion were won by Martin Coles mare and foal Durkar Playtime and Durkar Solitaire.  The Welsh Pony (Cob Type) Youngstock and Overall Champion were awarded to G Watsons Swffryd Manon.  Mr Franklin, Mrs Payne and Mr Dykes then awarded the Gelding Championship to Caerdelyn Istabraq owned by H Warrington and C Bales  Supreme Welsh Champion was won by the Welsh Section D broodmare, Durkar Playtime bred and owned by Martin Cole and Reserve Supreme Champion went to the Section A barren mare, Tamevalley Taffeta owned by S E V Goodwin.

Our Summer Bronze Medal Show was held on Sunday 7th August.  The welsh Section Ds and Cs were judged by Mr J P Gray, Thorneynewside Stud.  Champion Welsh Cob was awarded to Crugybar Carlo Morganna Mai  owned by the Cotello family.  Mr Gray awarded the Section C Champion to Garry Watsons Bryncarreg Alfie Boe.  Mrs S J Weightman, Southwaite Stud, judged the Welsh Mountain Ponies and her Youngstock and overall champion was Andrea Broughs Kelkardi Mr Moonstone by Kelkardi Tickaty Boo.  Finally Mrs S Rogers, Ywal Stud, judged the Welsh Part-breds and Welsh Ponies.  She gave the Part-bred Champion to Liz Hampsons Login Rainbow Delight and the Section B Champion and eventual Supreme Champion of the Show went to Karen Cheethams homebred mare Carrwood Summertime.  Reserve Supreme Champion went to the Welsh pony Cob Type Bryncarreg Alfie Boe. 

Our official photographers this year are Equestrian Show Photographer and they have kindly given us copies of some of the photographs from the day. To view all our champions on the day and read all the in hand results please visit the results page.

As most of our members will be aware, our founding member and long time President, Phil Sweeting, passed away in April 2016. Phil is sorely missed by us all on the West Yorkshire WPCA Committee, and by all his friends in the Welsh Pony and Cob world. He was a great showman, competitor, friend, judge and a fountain of knowledge!       In his memory our spring show will be in his name and a raffle will be held and all proceeds will go to the Wakefield Hospice. 

The committee would like to thank the judges and stewards for their time, as well as all exhibitors, without your continued support we could not continue.

Reserve Supreme Ridden Champion, Mini Ridden Champion, 1st Open Lead Rein 

Mrs Sally Potters Heniarth Yes Sir ridden by Aston Potter-Firth and led by Anouska Potter

Committee Members

Chairperson and Treasurer − Martyn Cole

Secretary- Gwen Heppenstall

Other members- Heidi Heppenstall, Victoria Hardcastle, Fiona Campion, Liz Hampson, Paul Hampson, Christine Green, Stephen Heppenstall




We would like to thank the following for their sponsorship at our shows in 2016

We are always looking for sponsors for this year´s shows. Anyone wishing to be a sponsor, please get in touch with Mathew Everitt,  his contact details can be found at the bottom of the page.

*         Sponsorship of £10 for a class

*         Sponsorship of £20 for a Championship

*         Sponsorship of £30 for a Supreme Championship

*         Sponsorship of £35 for a Medal

All sponsors are welcome to present the prizes if they so wish.  All sponsors are listed on the website as well as in the relevant catalogue.  Links can also be made to your own website if you wish.  Please contact the webmaster Victoria Hardcastle, her contact details can be found at the bottom of the page.

Champion Coloured In-hand

Heidi Heppenstal's Glynwyn Strawberries and Cream

All photographs on this page were taken by Equestrian Show Photographer